Now Fighting for You
First DUI Offense
What Happens When You get Your First DUI in Tennessee?
Tennessee law defines driving under the influence as operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, including legal prescription drugs and illegal drugs. The law has set the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for DUI at .08% or higher. A BAC that is above the legal limit is enough for a reasonable presumption of intoxication under the law.
In Tennessee there is a minimum of 48 hours in jail if your BAC was higher than .08% or a minimum of 7 days if your BAC was higher than .20%. Maximum sentences can be up to 1 year imprisonment, a fine of $1.5k, a 1 year license revocation, and mandatory substance abuse treatment.
Are you trying to understand your options after being charged with your 1st DUI offense? Ridings Law Group, P.C. can inform you of your rights and make sure they are respected. The first step in a strong DUI defense is ensuring that your rights have not been violated, either during the arrest or during any other part of the process. If you are arrested for DUI, it is important to contact a lawyer as soon as possible, even if this is your first DUI offense.
We encourage you to contact our office at (615) 394-7611 right away if you have been arrested for driving under the influence.
BAC Testing in Tennessee
Blood alcohol content can be tested with either a breathalyzer or blood samples. Anyone who has been trained to take a breath sample can perform this test, such as law enforcement officers. However, only certified medical professionals may take blood samples to test a person’s BAC. You have the right to have another certified laboratory perform an additional test on any sample.
Things to know about BAC testing include:
- The results of BAC testing are admissible in a criminal case
- If an officer did not request a test, that is also admissible
- There is a presumption of intoxication with a BAC of .08% or higher
- The results of this testing can be disputed by a competent lawyer
This area of law can be complex and rules and penalties for DUI are frequently changing. Even if this is the first offense, the penalties can be serious and have a significant impact on your life. Do not hesitate to seek legal advice, if you are arrested for DUI. Our DUI defense lawyer in Nashville stays abreast of all changes to legislation to provide a strong legal solution for every client.
If you have been arrested for DUI contact us today for reliable legal advice.