What are the penalties for underage drinking in a DUI conviction?
Underage Driving While Impaired Consequences in Tennessee.
If a driver between 16 and 21 drives with a BAC of 0.02 or is under the influence of alcohol, another intoxicating substance, or both, he or she is guilty of Underage Driving While Impaired. The driver could be fined $250 and he or she will have his or her license to drive suspended for 1 year. The driver may also be required to perform community service.
The state of Tennessee is becoming increasingly aware of the rise in underage drinking and driving. The current trend among the courts handling such cases is to penalize the offender to the full extent of the law. Because Tennessee also sets age limits for alcohol consumption, anyone under the legal age (21 years old) can face enhanced penalties when charged with DUI.
If you’ve been arrested for DUI violation it is important to contact Ridings Law Group, P.C. right away.
In mounting a strong defense, Attorney David Ridings knows that all the pieces of a solid defense must include the determination that your rights have not been violated during any part of the process. He also evaluates whether or not the police have administered the Field Sobriety Tests according to their training. There are actually 14 training manuals that govern how the police build a DUI case. Ask your attorney if he has ANY of them… much less ALL of them. Attorney David Ridings is one of very few attorneys that takes defending DUI cases seriously. He is a member of the National College for DUI Defense (NCDD), Tennessee Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (TACDL), and owns all 14 training manual used by the officers. (both student and instructor editions).
Don’t trust your DUI case with an Attorney with anything less than that kind of experience.
Source: Tennessee Code Title 55 (Motor and Other Vehicles) 55-10-415